Miyajima and Train to Kyoto

On to the pictures! The view from my hotel room in Hiroshima:

Tightly packed restaurants and shops:

Arrived on Miyajima… and suddenly a deer!


The first gate to the shrine.


He floating Torii gate:


The city across the water with a beautifully illuminated building. 


Front of the shrine:


Wash basin in front of the shrine:


More shrine:



Every shrine has male and female guardian dogs/lions. Here’s the female:
An old part of the shrine used for the Noh dance each year:


A bridge that was constructed to be used only by the emperor’s personal messenger. It was really steep. I would have spent all day just trying to scramble up it; I might not have been a very good messenger.

Suddenly a deer!


Stairs up to a shrine. There was suddenly a deer right after I took this photo. 


The maples in Momijidama:



The very crowded shopping arcade:


Looking back from the boat as we left Miyajima:

I took this to show how precise and close together the Shinkansen run. From the same platform, you have two trains leaving four minutes apart. 

I finally got a video of the bullet train pulling in. 

Happy hour on the bullet train!


Kyoto Station from my hotel room.


A tour of my room in Kyoto:

​https://youtu.be/hJgQ6Hmi-ME
Capsule machines at Yodobashi Camera!


My lovely little hotel room:

Leave a Reply

